Dear Mr. Christian,

“I know you’re on a mission. I know you say the answer to my problem is religion. I know i’m supposed to change the way I live and stop sinning. But I’d appreciate it if ya took some time to listen. Dear Mr. Christian”  -Minorville, Derek Minor

I don’t pretend to know what artists are thinking when they write lyrics to songs. I’m sure all have different ways that they are able to focus on what they are doing. I do wonder what Mr. Minor was doing when he wrote the lyrics to this song tho. This song is a few years old, but it resonated in my mind as this verbal expression post was taking shape in my oven. Then again, this piece has been in the working for a few years in itself. I know that God teaches us over time as we become ready to hear more about him. It really makes me wonder how artists write songs about Him so frequently. But, I suppose that is another topic for another day. Today the topic remains- Christian living.

We just finished the presidential election which people are still talking about. I was naive to think that after the election people would stop talking about politics (rookie move). Right now people are protesting about the outcome. I do wonder if that would have happened if the other candidate had won? Some say that it wouldn’t have happened because all the people protesting don’t have jobs. If the other candidate had won I imagine the soon to be president supporters would have gathered their guns and done some form of close minded stand off to say, “this is mine, you better stay away.” But I guess we will never know. O.k., done with the politics, still not the topic that remains for today- Christian living.

Jesus says in Matthew 22, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment. And second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the Law and Prophets.” Did you all know Jesus was crazy? Well, he was. He was always right, too. The word that stands out the most to people in these verses is the word “love”. As it should. What is love? I mean…. never mind, that is much to large of a question to answer in words on a page. Perhaps if we wanted to explore it more, we could over coffee at some point. Love though, it drives actions. It fuels hate (how does that work?). It is the subject to our lives. It gives some “purpose”. Jesus says we are supposed to have it toward each other. I think for the time being however, I am going to focus on the word you/your in these few verses. Yep that’s right. YOU. What are you doing? I mean, obviously you are sitting where you are (or standing >.>) reading this post. Where are you going though? What is your purpose? Is it love? What kind of love? Love for a person? people? Your work? Your passion? Do you even know? Maybe you are just enjoying life as you go. Just working and living. Or perhaps you are an extremely driven person and you can’t stop. Life is an opportunity and you wanna take it by the tail feathers and run wild. Maybe, you are neither of these and your boat sails are up. Taking the waves as they come, because life isn’t easy. There are a lot of situations that you could be in right now, I do not pretend to know you or know where you are. But, (there is always a “but” after that kind of statement, ha) you are alive, and living life. We all have that the same. Direction and purpose and what separate. Since we are all on the same plane, lets see what the seats look like shall we?

Leave a Reply

